The council is responsible for services including planning in the area around Dover, Deal and Sandwich.

The majority party usually appoints the Leader of the Council and the members of the Cabinet, which is the main decision-making body of the council (details are at–Democracy/Leader–Cabinet.aspx).

Details of the council are at

The council comprises 32 councillors:
  • 19 Conservative
  • 11 Labour
  • 1 Labour and Co-operative
  • 1 Independent

Deal and Walmer councillors are:

Middle Deal and Sholden
  • Trevor Bond (Conservative)
  • David Cronk (Labour)
Mill Hill
  • Joe Burman (Labour)
  • Helen Williams (Labour)
North Deal
  • Sue Beer (Labour)
  • Peter Jull (Conservative)
  • Derek Murphy (Conservative)
  • Chris Vinson (Conservative)